Charas-Project

Game Creation => Requests => Tutorials => Topic started by: Me5kuTis on September 09, 2005, 11:50:20 AM

Title: Ineluki's KeyPatch
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 09, 2005, 11:50:20 AM
Rpg Maker 2000 artists from the mere beginning of rm2k wanted to have all keyboard support but makers passed but it wasn't implemented so Ineluki made his keypatch which allows us to use not only the whole keyboard but even the mouse. But still another problem occurs. The patch is in german and only the german RM2k community was able to use it. Well here's the tutorial everyone was looking for. Right here right now!
All you need is to download the Ineluki's keypatch from a mirror on the Nightshift team's site here :
http://Nightshift.tinklapiai.lt/loldir/Ineluki%20Key%20Patch%20v1.2.zip

And "Maker Ultimative" from here :
http://Nightshift.tinklapiai.lt/loldir/Maker%20Ultimative.zip

                                         INSTALATION

1. Extract Ineluki Key Patch v1.2.zip and go to Ineluki Key Patch v1.2/install. Open setup.exe and install the keypatch ON your rm2k.
If you installed it correctly ineluki's logo should appear when opening rm2k.

Congrats - You've just installed the keypatch to your project.

To start with - import all of the scripts from the "beispiele" folder to your game under the 'sound' category.


         
                                      USING THE MOUSE


 
Stuff you need. A common evend "Mouse" (Parallel process on switch [start] ON )

Have this code in it :

_________________________________________________

<>Play SE:    GetMousePos.script
<>Variable Ch:0001[Mouse ID] Set, MIDI Play Pos.(Tick)
<>FORK Optn:Var[Mouse ID] = -10
  <>Var Ch:0002[Mouse X] Set, MIDI Play Pos.(Tick)
  <>Var Ch:0003[Mouse Y] Set, MIDI Play Pos.(Tick)
  <>Var Ch:0004[Butons] Set, MIDI Play Pos.(Tick)
  <>Move Picture :    19, ( V [Mouse X], V [Mouse Y]), 0.0sec
  <>
: END Case
<>Wait:    0.0s.
<>
_________________________________________________




The Starter event (on the map) (Parallel Process) :
_________________________________________________

 PAGE I :

<>Play SE:    MidiTickOutput.script
<>Play SE:    MidiTickClear.script
<>Play SE:    MousesupportOn.script
<>Var Ch:0002[Mouse X] = 160
<>Var Ch:0003[Mouse Y] = 120
<>Show Picture:    19, cursor (160, 120)
<>ChangeSwitch:[start]-ON Set

 PAGE II (on [start] switch) (Push Key) :

<>
_________________________________________________

Buttons :
IF VAR [Mouse Buttons] = 1 (Left mouse button)
 BLABLABLA

IF VAR [Mouse Buttons] = 2 (Right mouse button)
 BLABLABLA

IF VAR [Mouse Buttons] = 3 (Both mouse button)
 BLABLABLA

Use mouse X/Y coordinates to make a button. For Example:

If VAR [Mouse X] above 160
  If VAR [Mouse X] below 170
    If VAR [Mouse Y] above 120
      If VAR [Mouse Y] below 140
        If VAR [Mouse Buttons] = 1
          Message : LOLPatch


!!!!!NOTE!!!!! : USE EXACTLY THE FIRST TO FOURTH VARIABLES FOR THE MOUSE OR IT WON'T WORK!!!

       
                                      USING THE WHOLE KEYBOARD
 

You'll need two 'call' common events called "KeyPatch ON" and "KeyPatch OFF"
One Parallel proces common event with switch [Keys] ON, Called "Keys Management"

The first one will have this code :

_________________________________________

<>Play SE:    MidiTickOutput.script
<>Play SE:    KeyList1.script          (Thats your script. I use the second but use whatever you like.)
<>Play SE:    KeySupportOn.script
<>Change Switch : [Keys] - ON Set
_________________________________________



The second one will have this code :

_________________________________________

<>Play SE:    MidiTickReset.script
<>Play SE:    KeySupportOff.script
<>Change Switch : [Keys] - OFF Set
_________________________________________


The third one will have this code :


_________________________________________

<>Play SE:    MidiTickClear.script
<>Wait:    0.0s.
<>Wait:    0.0s.
<>Wait:    0.0s.
<>Variable Ch:[Key ID] Sett, MIDI Play Pos.(Tick)
<>
_________________________________________

Now instead of doing the enter password command use a fork condition

<>FORK Optn:VAR[Key ID] = X
X is a number representing a certain key. You can check them out by opening your keylist.script.wav with the notepad.
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 09, 2005, 05:14:26 PM
Thanks for making this thread, but I tried using the mouse. It didn't work. The cursor simply doesn't move at all. The buttons don't work.
Anything to fix this?

Didn't try the keyboard yet, but it can be good.



EDIT: Added "?".
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 09, 2005, 06:15:59 PM
Sorry forgot to add 'Maker Ultimativ' Fixed it. Try again.
Title:
Post by: SC3K on September 09, 2005, 07:35:25 PM
Alright, I got it to work! Thanks!
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 09, 2005, 08:28:37 PM
OK, tried it, but now it moves the char and the cursor doesn't move one bit. I don't need the mouse to move my char, I wanted to do a HUD where are some buttons that are accessible only by a mouse.

EDIT: Maybe I missed something from the manual, but it's 10:30 PM here and I have to go sleep. At the morning I'll look at it closer.
Title:
Post by: Dashman on September 09, 2005, 08:31:04 PM
Hold on, I got something wrong. Let's say, I want a common event jumping process. How should it look if I want to jump with a? I tried to follow the instructions, but I got no luck
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 10, 2005, 05:31:51 AM
@ LynX :
Redo the maker ultimativ and use the same tick's as susggested. That should work.

@ Dashman :
What Keylist script are you using?
Let's say I'm using the second one as it let's you use the whole keyboard instead of some added letters. I open it up in notepad and search for [a]. This is what I found

[a]
Action=registerKeyDownEvent
Key=a
Value=66
next=s

Explanation :

[a] - the name of the key
Action=registerKeyDownEvent - registers when the key is pressed down
Key=a - what key does it represent
Value=66 - It's value.
next=s - What's the next letter after a
_________

So now we have the value of 66. Now you just need a fork.
<>FORK optn:var[Key ID] = 66
  <>Move character ..........
<>END:Case
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 10, 2005, 07:29:04 AM
FINALLY I GOT THE MOUSE TO WORK. I forgot to install Ineluki's Keypatch _sweat_ . Anyway, just one small problem. When I move the mouse a bit somewhere, then it will "jump' about 100 pixels in the opposite direction I moved the mouse. Also the movement of the cursor is laggy. How do I fix this?
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 10, 2005, 10:36:39 AM
The first one - Does it jump to the center of the screen ?
the second - add a wait 0.0 somewhere
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 10, 2005, 11:14:40 AM
This is about the maximum movement with the mouse to the right...
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 10, 2005, 11:17:12 AM
...and to the left...
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 10, 2005, 11:19:24 AM
...before the cursor jumps here.


EDIT: Also, i added the "Wait 0.0" and the cursor lags like there was "Wait 0.1" instead. I know, it's not much, but it's irritating.
Title:
Post by: Dashman on September 10, 2005, 02:55:51 PM
STILL NOT WORKING!
 :yell:

I made all the common events, I made a common event called JUMP:
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Fork Optn. Varbl.[Key ID]=66
< >Move event...:     Hero, start jump, forward, forward, end jump
<>
<>End Case

What's wrong with it? :yell:
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 10, 2005, 03:58:02 PM
Quote
Originally posted by Dashman
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Fork Optn. Varbl.[Key ID]=66
< >Move event...:     Hero, start jump, forward, forward, end jump
<>
<>End Case


What The ? Why do you need those 0.0s. ?
Use one!
Title:
Post by: PyroAlchemist on September 10, 2005, 04:54:35 PM
Alrighty. I made it all like it said up there for the mouse and It won't move. I'm confused now. I installed the patch too.
Title:
Post by: Dashman on September 10, 2005, 05:08:34 PM
Quote
Originally posted by Me5kuTis
quote:
Originally posted by Dashman
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Wait 0.0s.
< >Fork Optn. Varbl.[Key ID]=66
< >Move event...:     Hero, start jump, forward, forward, end jump
<>
<>End Case


What The ? Why do you need those 0.0s. ?
Use one!

Yeah, tell me that. But you are not telling that to the one who made the tutorial, who also use 3 times wait 0.0s, so I thought that it would be almost the same.
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 11, 2005, 12:07:24 PM
I tried the keyboard thing and it makes the game incredibly laggy.
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 11, 2005, 01:39:02 PM
I'm  the author of the tutorial but not the author of the keypatch so don't blame me for lag or stupid mouse movement. It didn't happen to me. I said everything exactly as I did and it works for me. Maybe you need a faster computer. You know you could try translating the help file included in the patch yourselves.
Title:
Post by: AsakuraHao2004 on September 11, 2005, 04:56:25 PM
It looks and sounds cool, but I dont think I want to mess with RPG Makers interior... it's like playing god, doing things that RPG Maker isnt supposed to be able to do.
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 11, 2005, 07:02:07 PM
It works perfect for me. Anyways I can reinstall rpg maker anytime. Just like I reinstalled windows this very morning.
Title:
Post by: Dashman on September 12, 2005, 01:28:40 AM
Can't aynone help me?
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 12, 2005, 11:26:56 AM
'A' Doesn't work for me too. q(56) and w(57) are working fine. Here's the code.

Oh and don't forget to turn on the keypatch.
Title:
Post by: Dashman on September 12, 2005, 11:34:21 AM
what do you mean by turning it on? Isn't it supposed to be active when it's installed?


Edit: It worked! I saw what you meant. Thank you!

Edit again: Do people without the patch can't play games made with it?
Title:
Post by: Hell Angel on September 12, 2005, 05:24:31 PM
Yeah, I agree with AsakuraHao, I would only do this if it was coding, and not a patch. But, very nice tutorial none the less.

Great job.
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 12, 2005, 07:11:39 PM
Dashman, everyone can play the game. You don't even need rm2k. (if everything with the rtp is ok).

BTW. Sticky ?  (Z)
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 12, 2005, 08:16:33 PM
Hey, I've got an idea how to solve everyone's problems.

Me5kuTi5, could you make a game template with 1 room and a starting position, make there BOTH the mouse and complete keyboard, and post a link to it here? I think that would make things easier.
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 13, 2005, 01:31:28 PM
How do you make a project which doesn't need rtp?
Title:
Post by: LynX on September 13, 2005, 05:52:05 PM
Copy + Paste all the stuff from Rtp into your project. And I doubt we don't have Rtp if we have RPGMaker. ;)
Title:
Post by: Me5kuTis on September 16, 2005, 06:44:02 AM
I'll try. Sorry for the late reply I was ill.
Title:
Post by: Kirbylover3300 on September 28, 2005, 07:32:00 PM
do I have to make an event to call the keypatch on?
because it only works when I do that and that REALLY slows down the game.