Charas-Project

Game Creation => Requests => Tutorials => Topic started by: shadus on March 12, 2006, 06:05:22 PM

Title: Some Skills Help
Post by: shadus on March 12, 2006, 06:05:22 PM
I need a fue skills,

Dragoon jumping skill,

Scan skill,

Kick skill like Yang in ff4,

Holy sword skill.Hits one monster.

Dice skill.Dose random damage to one monster,

Steal,

A skill that dose one of two or three random skills.  

Thx.
Title:
Post by: Raen Ryong on March 12, 2006, 07:57:40 PM
Quote
Dragoon jumping skill


Hmm... I'm not so sure for this one. There's a working version of it in an RM2k3 game called FF Time and Again, or something like that, but even it glitches sometimes. If you're not intending to make the character actually leave the party, however, you might as well make it a normal skill. Though I don't think that's what you mean.

Quote
Scan skill


Okay, first of all you need 48 variables. That's one for the enemy's HP, MP, Attack, Defence, Mind and Agility, x8 (maximum amount of enemies).

Common event on parallel process outside of battle, Set all of those 48 variables to 0.

In battle, have a battle event with the trigger "Turn Number 1x". Depending on the amount of enemies, set the 6 variables as the enemy's current stats (eg HP, not Max HP)...

Set up either a skill or skillset named "Scan" or something similar. If it's a skill, make its category "Switch" and make it turn a switch on. If it's a skillset, no further adjustment is necessary.

Now, have another battle event (same battle) which is either "that switch" is ON, or "Skillset - used"...

Show message;
"Enemy Name
HP: V[0001](if it is variable number one, obviously) / 155 (for instance, type in stat maxes yourself) MP: V[0002] / 25", etc... this means if you reduce an enemy's HP, MP, or any other stat you can see the decrease. Repeat this for every monster (hence why you need 6 x 8 variables, for instance in a group of two monsters you would use 12 variables)... you can add additional information about the monster through additional show messages.

I think that just about covers that one...

Quote
Advan


Umm... don't quite get this one. Is it something from a professional game I don't know? Hmm...

Quote
Kick skill like Yang in ff4


As I remember, Kick hits all enemies for a normal amount of damage, right? Why not just make it an actual skill?

Quote
Holy sword skill.Hits one monster.


Make it a skill, but make it Holy elemental or whatever. No need for anything flashy here.

Quote
Dice skill.Dose random damage to one monster


I'm not too adept with the battle events, but I'd imagine you'd make an event switch-activated. Next, you'd define a variable as a random number between the two limits of the damage. Next, you'd use the "Change Enemy HP" function to reduce their HP BY THAT VARIABLE.

Quote
Steal


Look around this section of the forums... I'm sure I've seen one or two tutorials.

Quote
A skill that dose one of two or three random skills


Again, it's a battle-event thing. Either make the skill that triggers the random skills switch-activated and then use a random variable to determine the skill used there, or make three skills with the same name and every turn of the battle (Turn number 1x in battle events) remove the skill and then use a random variable and add one of the three skills. Because they have the same name, it'll appear to be a random skill.
Title:
Post by: WarxePB on March 12, 2006, 08:07:45 PM
Jump:

Make the Jump skill a Switch skill, that activates a switch called Jump.

M.Groups Page 1
Conditions: Switch [0001: Jump] ON
<>Change Party: Hero 1 (Real) Remove
<>Change Party: Hero 1 (Fake) Add (This hero is a dummy hero. It should have no battle graphic, and is immune to all attributes)
<>Show Battle Anim: Hero 1, Jumpanim
<>Change Character Condition: Hero 1 (Fake), Jump Add (The Jump condition needs to have "Evade All Attacks" checked, and should never wear off)
<>Switch Oper: Switch [0002: Jump2] ON

Page 2
Conditions: Turns Elapsed [1X], Switch [0002: Jump2] ON
<>Variable Oper: Var[0001:Target] Set, Rnd 1-X (X is the total amont of enemies you have in battle)
<>Branch if Var[0001: Target] is 1
|<>Show Battle Anim: Jumphit, Monster 1
|<>Variable Oper: Var[0002:Damage] Set, Hero 1 (Real) Atk
|<>Variable Oper: Var[0002:Damage] * (Multiply), Rnd 160 - 240
|<>Variable Oper: Var[0002:Damage] / (divide), 100
|<>Change Monster HP: Monster 1's HP V[0002:Damage] Remove
|<>Change Party: Hero 1 (Fake) Remove
|<>Change Party: Hero 1 (Real) Add
|<>Switch Oper: [0001]-[0002] OFF
|<>
<>Else Handler
|<>Branch if Var[0001: Target] is 2
||<>Show Battle Anim: Jumphit, Monster 2
||<>Variable Oper: Var[0002:Damage] Set, Hero 1 (Real) Atk
||<>Variable Oper: Var[0002:Damage] * (Multiply), Rnd 160 - 240
||<>Variable Oper: Var[0002:Damage] / (divide), 100
||<>Change Monster HP: Monster 2's HP V[0002:Damage] Remove
||<>Change Party: Hero 1 (Fake) Remove
||<>Change Party: Hero 1 (Real) Add
||<>Switch Oper: [0001]-[0002] OFF
||<>
|<>Else Handler
||<>Branch if Var[0001: Target] is 3
etc...


You'll have to copy that to every monster group.

Common Event 1: Hero Balance (Set it to Parallel Process)
<>Branch if Hero 1 (Fake) is in party
|<>Change Party: Hero 1 (Fake) Remove
|<>Change Party: Hero 1 (Real) Add
<>Variable Oper: Var[0003:RealHero-Exp] Set, Hero 1 (Real) Experience
<>Variable Oper: Var[0004:FakeHero-Exp] Set, Hero 1 (Fake) Experience
<>Branch if Var[0003:RealHero-Exp] is Var[0004] Greater
|<>Change Experience: Hero 1 (Fake)'s Exp 9999999 Remove
|<>Change Experience: Hero 1 (Fake)'s Exp Var[0003] Add
|<>
<>End
<>Branch if Var[0003:RealHero-Exp] is Var[0004] Less
|<>Change Experience: Hero 1 (Real)'s Exp 9999999 Remove
|<>Change Experience: Hero 1 (Real)'s Exp Var[0004] Add
|<>
<>End

Hopefully, that works.


Scan:
Unfortunately, you can't have Scan as a skill. You'l have to make it a battle command. Make it of the archetype "Attack", so that you can target the desired enemy.

M.Groups Page 1
Trigger: [Hero 1] uses the [Scan] command
<>Branch if Monster 1:Monster 1 Targetted
|<>Variable Oper: Var[0006:Monster-HP] Set, Monster 1 HP
|<>Variable Oper: Var[0007:Monster-MP] Set, Monster 1 MP
|<>Message: Monster 1
HP: V[0006]100  MP: V[0007]10
ATK: 10    DEF: 10
SPD: 10   MAG: 10
Weak: Fire  Strong: Ice  Absorb: Water
|<>Message: (anything else, like stealable items or strategies to take it down)
|<>
<>Else Handler
|<>Branch if Monster 1:Monster 2 Targetted
etc...

As with Jump, you'll have to copy that to every monster group. Also, you'll have to modify each message to show the correct information for each monster.


Kick, Holy Sword:

You could just make these regular skills with special animations or something.


Dice:

I don't even have to type out the code for this.
Make the Dice skill a Switch skill. In the M.Groups tab, create a new page, activated by the Dice switch. Use a Random Number Variable Operation to get the target (you could use the Jump, Page 2 code from above), use another Random Number to determine damage, then use Change Enemy HP to reduce the monster's HP by that variable. Then turn the Dice switch OFF. Easy.


Steal:

There's plenty of Steal tutorials out there.


A skill that dose one of two or three random skills:

Not so sure. It would probably be similar to Dice, but with more branches instead of just a Change Enemy HP command. You'd need to know algorithms and such too, so... I would suggest against it.


Actually, this gives me an idea. *goes off to write stuff*
Title:
Post by: shadus on March 12, 2006, 08:33:20 PM
Thanks guys.The reason I want the holy sword and kick skills like that is it's there only skills and looks funny if it's in a subset.Oh I forgot I also need a bomb skill where you throw a bomb out of the items.I know I could make a bomb Item but I thought i'd be nicer if it was a attack.Where did you find Avean or whatever?
Title:
Post by: WarxePB on March 12, 2006, 08:38:15 PM
Shadus, the only way you're going to have a Throw command is if you make a couple of common events that removes EVERYTHING you have, and re-adds alternate forms of it that can be thrown, then does the opposite after you use the item.
Title:
Post by: Moosetroop11 on March 12, 2006, 08:58:33 PM
Or do the poor man's version and have all your items, but have it say "Cannot be thrown" if you click on most of them.
Title:
Post by: shadus on March 12, 2006, 09:04:51 PM
No I mean like you use the skill if you have a bomb then you pick a monster to throw it at but if you don't then it says you have no bombs or something.That way you don't have to go into the items.