Charas-Project

Game Creation => Requests => Tutorials => Topic started by: Fortet on July 07, 2010, 04:23:25 AM

Title: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Fortet on July 07, 2010, 04:23:25 AM
Alright, so, I've got three cursors on the screen. The first one moves fine without any problems. Upon selecting something with the first cursor, the something is highlighted, and a new cursor appears on the second column. For some reason, moving the cursor twice on the second column moves the cursor back to the first column. This poses a problem.

Coding this has been quite the hassle today, but it has taught me much about variables and key input processing. However, there is still much to learn obviously.

Any idea as to what the problem may be? I have three different sets of X,Y variables, three different cursor variables, and three different Key Input variables.

EDIT: Here's what it looks like -
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v349/SatireBoy/chaosgatemenu.png)
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: lilsniffs3 on July 07, 2010, 04:40:59 AM
Did you use copy paste on the coding? That caused a problem once as I forgot to change a tiny thing. Look for an error in it.
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Fortet on July 07, 2010, 05:15:12 AM
No copy/paste. I did everything as I came to it. Each line got its own love :)
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: lilsniffs3 on July 07, 2010, 06:31:56 AM
Can you take a screenshot of the coding?
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Prpl_Mage on July 07, 2010, 06:53:57 AM
Since it moves and all I believe that you have the wrong X and Y coordinates added somewhere, or the wrong variable chosen.
It sounds like one of those problems.
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Fortet on July 07, 2010, 10:33:37 PM
I'm going to try one more method before I post the code here. Just came to me while I was at work.
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Fortet on July 08, 2010, 03:29:46 AM
Alright, so my idea partially worked. I decided to split each column into its own event. The cursor moves fine in the first and second columns! But for some reason, when trying to select a word in the second column, nothing happens.
Each event is basically the same coding, just a few changes (variables, X,Y coordinates, picture numbers). So if selecting a word works in the first column, why not in the second?
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: zuhane on July 08, 2010, 10:13:55 AM
I probably can't help. If it's any consolation, your menu looks really pretty and well made!
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Fortet on July 09, 2010, 09:05:55 PM
(http://i27.tinypic.com/33kvn15.png)

Here's the code for the first selector, BTW. The second and third selectors are nearly identical, except for variable references of course.
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Prpl_Mage on July 10, 2010, 06:45:15 AM
What simply hit my mind is that there's no conditional branch or anything. So even after you are done with the first one - it might still react to the fact that you pressed up or down with those key input -commands.

Try to press F9 during test run to see if the variable values of the first choice is changed when you try to move the second.
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Fortet on July 10, 2010, 09:21:54 AM
Odd. Nothing's changing in the other variables. However, attempting to press Enter (5) isn't setting the second Move variable to 5... Let me check the coding.

EDIT: Now I better understand what you meant. I think. The second cursor has its own Move2 variable, as the third has Move3. I've made sure to change all of the appropriate variables over... I'm still confused lol

What if I send you the game file? See if you can figure it out by actually tinkering with it?
Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Prpl_Mage on July 10, 2010, 09:02:48 PM
What if I send you the game file? See if you can figure it out by actually tinkering with it?

If you'd like, I love to check people's codes it's like seeing things from another perspective.
But you could just copy that menu to a clean project. OR copy the project and remove all the game stuff. It might decrease the project size and you might feel safer with it.

Title: Re: Another Menu Problem
Post by: Fortet on July 11, 2010, 02:16:44 AM
Lol I'm not too worried about sending out to you, but uploading it would work better if it were smaller. I'm at work right now, so I'll send it to you when I get home.